Red Dot Award: Communication Design

About

Unter dem Motto „In search of good design and creativity” ermittelt der Red Dot Award: Communication Design jährlich gut gestaltete Arbeiten und kreative Projekte von Designern, Agenturen und Unternehmen rund um den Globus.

» Sieger entdecken

Über den Red Dot Award: Communication Design

Der Red Dot Award: Communication Design, bis 2001 bekannt als „Deutscher Preis für Kommunikationsdesign“, wird seit 1993 jährlich ausgerichtet. In 17 Kategorien können Agenturen, Designer und Unternehmen aus aller Welt ihre Gestaltungs- und Kreativleistungen zum Wettbewerb anmelden. Teil des Red Dot Award: Communication Design ist der Red Dot: Junior Award, der sich an Nachwuchsdesigner richtet. Sämtliche Einreichungen werden dem Leitmotiv „In search of good design and creativity“ folgend von der Red Dot Jury bewertet.

Kategorien

Um die eingereichten Arbeiten und Projekte entsprechend ihrer Vielfalt differenziert und fachgerecht bewerten zu können, stehen für die Teilnahme am Red Dot Award: Communication Design verschiedene Kategorien zur Verfügung.

Red Dot Jury

Die Red Dot Jury besteht aus mehr als 20 internationalen Experten. Diese diskutieren und evaluieren jede Einreichung individuell, live und vor Ort.

Bewertungskriterien

Die Wettbewerbsbeiträge werden einzeln begutachtet und in Hinblick auf ihre gestalterische und kreative Leistung bewertet. Bei der Evaluierung spielen verschiedene Kriterien eine Rolle. Sie variieren je nach Art des Projekts und bilden einen Orientierungsrahmen. Aufgrund ihrer Expertise und ihres sozio-kulturellen Hintergrunds füllen die Juroren diesen individuell aus.

Zu den Bewertungskriterien zählen je nach Art des Projekts unter anderem:

  • Gestaltungsqualität und Ästhetik
  • Idee, Konzept und dessen Umsetzung
  • Originalität und Wiedererkennungswert
  • Klarheit, Verständlichkeit und emotionale Bedeutung

 

Auszeichnungen

Red Dot: Grand Prix

Der Red Dot: Grand Prix wird für herausragende Gestaltung vergeben und ist die höchste Einzelauszeichnung im Red Dot Award: Communication Design. Er geht an die beste Arbeit einer Kategorie.

Red Dot: Best of the Best

Der Red Dot: Best of the Best ist die Auszeichnung für sehr hohe Designqualität. Ausschließlich Projekte, die mit ihrer sehr guten Gestaltungsqualität und kreativen Leistung überzeugen, werden mit dem Red Dot: Best of the Best prämiert.

Red Dot

Der Red Dot ist die Auszeichnung für hohe Designqualität. Nur an Projekte, die mit ihrer guten Gestaltungsqualität und kreativen Leistung überzeugen, vergibt die internationale Jury das begehrte Qualitätssiegel.

Red Dot: Agency of the Year

Mit dem Ehrentitel „Red Dot: Agency of the Year“ wird eine Agentur gewürdigt, die mit überdurchschnittlichen Designleistungen überzeugt hat.

Red Dot: Brand of the Year

Mit dem Ehrentitel „Red Dot: Brand of the Year“ wird eine Marke geehrt, die über Jahre hinweg in besonders hohem Maße innovative und kreative Gestaltungslösungen geschaffen hat. Gewürdigt wird die Designqualität und Entscheidungsstärke in der Markenführung – unabhängig davon, ob auf die eigene Kompetenz oder das Know-how externer Agenturen gesetzt wurde.

Red Dot: Junior Award

Der Red Dot: Junior Award ist Teil des Red Dot Award: Communication Design. Dieser Wettbewerb richtet sich an Auszubildende, Studenten und Young Professionals, deren Abschluss nicht länger als zwei Jahre zurückliegt. Mit einem entsprechenden Ausbildungsnachweis können sie mit ihren Projekten – unabhängig von deren Entstehungsdatum – zu vergünstigten Konditionen am Wettbewerb teilnehmen: Sie erhalten 20 % Ermäßigung auf die Anmeldegebühren und 40 % Ermäßigung auf das Winner Package. Der mit 10.000 Euro dotierte Red Dot: Junior Prize würdigt die beste Arbeit eines Nachwuchsdesigners. Ziel ist es, den aufstrebenden Talenten einen gelungenen Start in die Designbranche zu ermöglichen und den Zugang zur Industrie und Agenturwelt zu erleichtern.

Red Dot: Junior Prize 2017

Design: Sarah Müller, Kirchdorf an der Iller, Germany
Universität: School of Design Ravensburg, Germany

Kontakt

Bei Fragen oder Anmerkungen kontaktieren Sie uns gerne:

Red Dot Team
Tel.: +49 201 30104 49
E-Mail: cd(at)red-dot.de

Eine Übersicht über alle Ansprechpartner des Red Dot Design Awards finden Sie hier.

Red Dot Award: Communication Design

About

Under the motto „In search of good design and creativity”, the Red Dot Award: Communication Design finds well designed works and creative projects from designers, agencies and companies from around the globe every year.

» Browse winners

About Red Dot Award: Communication Design

The Red Dot Award: Communication Design, known as “Deutscher Preis für Kommunikationsdesign” (German Prize for Communication Design) until 2001, has been hosted annually since 1993. Agencies, designers and companies from around the world can register their design and creative achievements in 17 categories for the competition. The Red Dot: Junior Award is part of the Red Dot Award: Communication Design and is geared toward up-and-coming designers. All entries are evaluated by the Red Dot Jury in line with the leitmotiv “In search of good design and innovation”.

Categories

In order to assess the works and projects submitted in a differentiated and professional manner that recognises their diversity, there are various categories for participating in the Red Dot Award: Communication Design.

Red Dot Jury

The Red Dot Jury comprises more than 20 international experts. They discuss and evaluate each entry individually, live and on site.

 

Judging Criteria

The competition entries are assessed individually and with regard to their design and creative performance. During the evaluation, various criteria are taken into account. They vary depending on the type of project and provide a framework for orientation. It is filled in individually by each juror according to his or her expertise and socio-cultural background.

Depending on the type of project, the judging criteria include among others:

  • Design quality and aesthetics
  • Idea, concept and implementation
  • Originality and recognition value
  • Clarity, comprehensibility and emotional significance

Awards

Red Dot: Grand Prix

The Red Dot: Grand Prix is awarded for outstanding design and is the highest single distinction in the Red Dot Award: Communication Design. It goes to the best piece of work in a category.

Red Dot: Best of the Best

The Red Dot: Best of the Best is the award for very high design quality. Only projects that win over the jury with their very high design quality and creative performance receive the Red Dot: Best of the Best.

Red Dot

The Red Dot is the award for high design quality. The international jury only awards this sought-after seal of quality to projects that win over the jury with their good design quality and creative performance.

Red Dot: Agency of the Year

The honorary title “Red Dot: Agency of the Year” pays tribute to an agency that has demonstrated above-average design achievements.

Red Dot: Brand of the Year

The honorary title “Red Dot: Brand of the Year” pays tribute to a brand that has come up with innovative and creative design solutions on a particularly high level over the years. The title recognises design quality and decisiveness in brand management – regardless of whether it was achieved with the brand’s own skills or the know-how of external agencies.

Red Dot: Junior Award

The Red Dot: Junior Award is part of the Red Dot Award: Communication Design. This competition is intended for apprentices, students and young professionals up to two years post-graduation. By submitting the respective training certificate, they can participate in the competition with their projects – regardless of when those projects were created – and receive a 20% discount on the registration fee and a 40% discount on the Winner Package. The Red Dot: Junior Prize, endowed with 10,000 Euros, honours the best piece of work by a young designer. The aim of the award is to provide the up-and-coming talents with a successful start in the design business and to facilitate access to the industry and to agencies.

Red Dot: Junior Prize 2017

 

Design: Sarah Müller, Kirchdorf an der Iller, Germany
Universität: School of Design Ravensburg, Germany

Contact

For questions and remarks, please feel free to contact us:

Red Dot Team
Tel.: +49 201 30104 49
E-mail: cd(at)red-dot.de

An overview of all contact persons of the Red Dot Design Award can be found here.