Red Dot Award: Communication Design 2015 - the jury has been chosen!

- 27 international design experts
- Exciting new members
- Still possible to register until 19 June

The jury for the Red Dot Award: Communication Design 2015 has been chosen. A total of 27 design experts from all over the world will assess the works of the participants in this year’s competition. The creative competition is once again looking for the best projects from the fields of Corporate Design, Packaging, Game Design and more: Designers, advertisers, marketing professionals and up-and-coming new talent have a total of 17 categories to choose from for their entries.

Every year, Red Dot invites highly respected figures from the world of design to rate the international contributions to the competition and to award the best creative achievements. At intensive sittings, the jury for the Red Dot Award: Communication Design uses its expert experience to assess each piece of work individually, live and in situ. The entries are not preselected from pictures and there is no shortlist. The same conditions apply to each participant. The best designs receive the sought-after seal of quality, the Red Dot.

This year, the Red Dot jury features new members including Johanson Lo, founder and Creative Director of “JL DESIGN”, the first studio for motion graphics in Taiwan. Lo is one of the three curators of the “2015 Creative Expo Taiwan” as well as a member of the “Academy of TV Arts & Sciences”. He is currently working as a lecturer in Graphic Design and Motion Graphics at National Taiwan Normal University.

Another new addition is Frank Bodin, Chairman and CEO of “Havas Worldwide Switzerland” and “Havas Worldwide Vienna”. He has been working in advertising since 1992 and was named “Advertiser of the Year” in 2009. Bodin is President of the “Art Directors Club” in Switzerland as well as former President of “bsw leading swiss agencies” and a board member at “Swiss Advertising”.

Game designer Eric Zimmerman is also making his jury debut. The co-founder of “Gamelab” has more than 20 years of experience in video games, tabletop games and other gaming experiments. Zimmerman is also a co-founder of the non-profit organisation “The Institute of Play”, which founded public schools where the timetable is based on games. Furthermore he is co-author of “Rules of Play”, the reference work for game design as well as arts professor at the Game Center of New York University.

In addition to the expertise of many additional new members, Red Dot also relies consistently on the know-how of experienced jury members. For example, Bettina Schulz, editor-in-chief at the international specialist magazine “novum World of Graphic Design”, Brazilian designer Gustavo Greco and Frank Swolfs, President of the “european packaging association”, are once again part of the Red Dot jury. “The jurors are at the heart of our competition. It is their judgement that stands for the quality level of the award. The Red Dot jury has always been characterised by its international nature as well as its competence. In order to guarantee a fair selection process, no jury member can assess or submit projects that he or she was involved in. This is guaranteed by our strict ´Code of Honour`, by which all jury members are bound”, explains Professor Dr Peter Zec, founder and CEO of Red Dot.

This year again, the laureates will receive their awards in the creative metropolis of Berlin. On 6 November 2015 the award-winners of a Red Dot: Best of the Best or Red Dot: Grand Prix will receive their trophies in a celebratory atmosphere on stage in the Konzerthaus in Berlin. And the suspense will be maintained until the end, as traditionally it is not until the Red Dot Gala that the winner of the Red Dot: Junior Prize with prize money of EUR 10,000 is announced. This year the award is sponsored by the software company Adobe. Afterwards the international creative scene will party together into the early hours in the E-Werk in Berlin at the Designers’ Night, which is simultaneously the vernissage for the “Design on Stage” winners’ exhibition, to celebrate this year’s winners.

Participants can register for the Red Dot Award: Communication Design 2015 until 19 June. Further information is available at:

Red Dot jury 2015

Bettina Schulz, Germany
Chris Lee, Singapore
Cyriaque Porte, France
Damon Aval, Germany
Daniel Budiman, Germany
Eric Zimmerman, USA
Frank Bodin, Switzerland
Frank Swolfs, the Netherlands
Gustavo Greco, Brazil
Holger Windfuhr, Germany
Jennifer Tsai, Taiwan
Johnason Lo, Taiwan
Kelley Cheng, Singapore
Niels Schrader, Germany
Nuno Gusmão, Portugal
Peter Philippe Weiss, Switzerland
Prof. Dr. Christof Rezk-Salama, Germany
Prof. Laurent Lacour, Germany
Prof. Linda Breitlauch, Germany
Prof. Michel de Boer, the Netherlands
Prof. Rudolf Schricker, Germany
Rainer Hirt, Germany
Riccardo Capuzzo, Italy
Seung Hun Yoo, Korea
Thebe Ikalafeng, South Africa
Wolfgang Baum, Germany
Wang Xu, China


Last date for registration: by 19 June 2015
Jury session: July 2015
Red Dot Gala: 6 November 2015, Konzerthaus Berlin
Designers’ Night & “Design on Stage”: 6 November 2015, E-Werk Berlin