[Translate to English:]
Press release

Logitech Design named Red Dot: Design Team of the Year 2023

» Download press release (PDF, 184 KB)


Under the leadership of Chief Design Officer Alastair Curtis, Logitech, the Swiss-based company, has undergone a fundamental transformation over the past ten years from a company known for its technology to an award-winning design company. Logitech has established itself as a design brand with a focus on quality and innovation.

With carefully designed products and innovative digital solutions, Logitech has kept the consumer at the heart of what it does and has changed the way in which people interact with digital devices, setting new trends in audio and video, as well as the gaming industry. Wireless mice, keyboards, headsets, Bluetooth speakers, webcams and video conferencing systems have not only provided impetus for leisure and lifestyle culture but also improved how and where we work – whether in an office, on the go or when working from home.

Logitech has been awarded the honorary title “Red Dot: Design Team of the Year 2023” for this work.

Successful transformation through design

The Logitech brand has always stood for innovative computer peripherals, including some industry firsts. For decades, the company primarily relied on external design studios. In 2013, Bracken Darrell, then president and CEO of Logitech, gave Alastair Curtis the opportunity to establish and grow a global design team at Logitech.

“When I look at where we were 10 years ago and where we are today, I can confidently say that everyone everywhere in this company – from technology and procurement to logistics and operations – wants to create fantastic products and a great user experience. We are a company that still manufactures physical products, but all of these products need to be able to communicate with each other”, says Alastair Curtis. The Chief Design Officer goes on to explain this change as follows: “All of them are part of a connected experience. So it’s no longer about designing just one individual product. It’s about a range of products and software that effortlessly interact with each other. It’s about new services that progress new business models. And it’s about a stronger focus on sustainability and accessibility.”

Congratulations from Red Dot CEO Professor Dr. Peter Zec on title of honour

“With agility and anticipation, Logitech walks the line between the fast-paced technologisation of our society and a sustainable design policy. Logitech’s products are designed for daily use and can withstand day-to-day use. At the same time, they have an almost classic appearance. As a result, the products don’t have to be replaced often – not for aesthetic or functional reasons. This type of sustainable product design is unique in the digital industry. In recent years, Alastair Curtis and his team have achieved a transformation in an already established and successful company, elevating Logitech from a tech brand to a design brand and making the company even more well known internationally as a result. This dedication to design and continuous work on extraordinary products is being recognised this year with the honorary title “Red Dot: Design Team of the Year.” I would like to congratulate them sincerely on this success.” 

Red Dot: Design Team of the Year – honorary title for sustainable design policy

Winning the title of Red Dot: Design Team of the Year is a very special honour, as no designer or company can apply for the distinction. It is an individual distinction that standards out from all of the other awards and represents the ultimate recognition of a sustainable design policy. Ever since 1988, the title has been bestowed each year as part of the Red Dot Award: Product Design on a team that has been especially convincing with its consistently innovative, top-notch design achievements. This honour is the only one of its kind in the world and is extremely highly regarded even outside of the design scene.


Hall of Fame: award-winning design teams since 1988

2023Logitech Design
2022Philips Experience Design Team led by Sean Carney
2021Studio F. A. Porsche
2020Fiskars Design Team led by Petteri Masalin
2019Flavio Manzoni & Ferrari Design Team
2018Phoenix Design Team
2017Canyon Design Team
2016Blackmagic Industrial Design Team led by Simon Kidd
2015Robert Sachon & Bosch Home Appliances Design Team
2013Lenovo Design & User Experience Team
2012Michael Mauer & Style Porsche
2011The Grohe Design Team led by Paul Flowers
2010Stephan Niehaus & Hilti Design Team
2009Susan Perkins & Tupperware World Wide Design Team
2008Michael Laude & Bose Design Team
2007Chris Bangle & Design Team BMW Group
2006LG Corporate Design Center
2005Adidas Design Team
2004Pininfarina Design Team
2003Nokia Design Team
2002Apple Industrial Design Team
2001Festo Design Team
2000Sony Design Team
1999Audi Design Team
1998Philips Design Team
1997Michele De Lucchi Design Team
1996Bill Moggridge & Ideo Design Team
1995Herbert Schultes & Siemens Design Team
1994Bruno Sacco & Mercedes-Benz Design Team
1993Hartmut Esslinger & Frogdesign
1992Alexander Neumeister & Neumeister Design
1991Reiner Moll & Partner & .molldesign
1990Slany Design Team
1989Braun Design Team
1988Leybold AG Design Team


Press contact

Red Dot Design Award
Birte Köppen
Phone +49 201 838885 35

Press agency
GeSK Agency for Public Relations
Gabriele von Molitor
Phone +49 30 21750460